Travel Blog: Day 6 – San Luis Obispo, California

On this day, we had miscellaneous prerogatives. No clear path, just going whereversanluisobispo seemed interested. This time, we stayed near the San Luis Obispo (SLO) area. I started off my morning by walking along the foggy shore of the Kon Tikki Inn looking for little sea shells. It was relaxing to be out in the fresh air and calming to be on my own and in a search. I could have stayed there all day, but there were so many things to explore.

Our first stop was by Morro Bay Rock. When my cousin told me it was a big rock in the middle of the water I was confused and thinking why on earth she would want to take me to see a boulder in the water? It wasn’t until I got there when I knew what she was saying. The rock is actually a volcanic plug. It is absolutely stunning. As a hiker, I wanted to know if I could climb on it but unfortunately, I can’t as it is preserved by the state. None the less it was a quaint little town to visit and sight see for a bit.

morrobay

applefarmOn our drive, we also decided to stop by the Apple Farm. It’s a cute little garden area where they have a restaurant, a gift shop, and an inn. It was worth a visit to do a little gift shopping and to see the beautiful set-up they had. So much of California is themed and so far that has probably been my favorite part!

For our last stop and where we spent most of the day into the evening was the SLO Farmer’s Market. Their Farmer’s Market is special to us New Yorkers because they are able to have it year round every single Thursday! It must be swell to live in California. There is so much that goes on in downtown SLO. They have bubblegumalleyamazing food vendors and great music for entertainment. Some of the shops are also still open during the Farmer’s Market. Not only is there endless entertainment but I also got to visit the famous Bubble Gum Alley! If you are a germaphobe or easily squeamish, this is not for you. A literal alleyway with thousands of chewed bubble gum pieces stuck to the wall. It started in the 1970’s and just didn’t stop. And if you’re wondering, yes, I did contribute.

 

 

It was a few short visits on this day but it was also a long day. My California trip would be coming to an end soon.

If you haven’t read my other Travel Blog in California, catch up with the links below!

Day1, Day2, Day3, Day4, Day5

 

One thought on “Travel Blog: Day 6 – San Luis Obispo, California

Leave a Reply

